Book Haul: July 2016

DSCF1010

I was by no means expecting to acquire so many books this month. Whilst I have been reading plenty, and so could probably justify a book haul to myself, I was planning on controlling my book buying habits. Whilst the damage is not extensive, I still somehow ending up with six new purchases to share with you . . . although in my poor defense, one of the books was actually gifted to me!

One of the first books I purchased this month was a slightly different genre to the other books I have already shown on this blog. Tanya Bakes is, as the title suggests, a book of baking recipes from the YouTuber Tanya Burr. Whilst I am not necessarily interested in beauty, or a massive follower of fashion, I do like Tanya and the realistic, obtainable image she presents to many of her younger, and so more impressionable followers. What I am hugely interested in though, is baking! Baking is a close second in my heart to literature, and my collection of baking book is quite frankly getting out of hand. Naturally, it only made sense to add to this never ending mountain with a new one! DSCF1027This book is extremely pretty, and in many aspects is extremely reflective of Tanya and her channel, as you can see from the chapter cover photos and the title page (see below).

What I truly love about this book though, is that every recipe is accompanied by a photo of the end product. There is nothing more frustrating than being faced with a recipe missing a photo, meaning you have no clue what the product will or should look like! I am yet to bake anything out of this book, but I am hopeful that it will be successful, and plan on sharing my experiences with you.


Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life, is a book which it is impossible to not know about or have seen everywhere in the last year or so. This novel was hot tipped to win the Man Booker Prize, and did make it to the Shortlist, yet despite its huge literary success, it appears it is a book which creates massive divided opinion. Perhaps this, combined with its rather daunting 700 pages of tiny font, has put me off previously making this purchase. Yet after seeing it in a local superarket as part of a two books for £7 deal, I decided to grab it whilst on offer.

The second book I picked up in this deal is a book which I know nothing (and I mean nothing) about, expect for what I have now read on the blurb.Fredrik Backman was an aouthor I first discovered when I spotted his previous debut book A Man Called Ove. That book made it onto my wishlist, yet I never got around to actually making the purchase. After seeing that his other book, My Grandmother Sends her Regards & Apologies, was also available with this offer, I saw it as a potential opportunity to discover a new author. Fingers crossed it lives up to the quirky cover art.

DSCF1015

If you have read any of my previous posts, you will be well aware that I am absolutely in love with the Penguin English Library Collection, and I am slowly procuring as many of these as I can. Whilst I have no defense for purchasing two of them – Hardy’s Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Frances Burney’s Evelina – I am devoid of all responsibility and blame for the acquisition of Charles Dickens’s Hard Times. My boyfriend, understanding my combined love of Dickens, my favourite author, and these fantastic editions, decided to suprise me with an unanticipated delivery to my door. He is definitely a keeper! All of these covers are stunning in their simplistic, yet beautiful covers, and are such an eager addition to my growing collection.DSCF1014

The finally book I purchased in July, I am again completely blameless for, as of course it was going to appear in any post of this month. Yes, as you have probably guessed, it is . . . THE NEW HARRY POTTER BOOK! There are no words to describe how crucial J. K. Rowling’s magical series were to me as a young child fascinated with the written word, and her books were the accompaniment to my childhood, each summer spend furiously devouring the latest installment. Like any other Harry Potter fan, I have awaited the release of this next installment of the script of Harry Potter and the Curse Child since its originally announcement. It would be dishonest of me to say that I have approached this new work without trepidation and unease; the series ended so perfectly for me, and have such a cherished place in my heart. How do we know that this will live up to our staggering expectations, and give the series the credit it deserves? There is only one way to find out, and I will post my thoughts and opinions as soon as I have managed to extract myself from the Rowling induced coma I am sure I will experience again.

As you can see from the above, this is an absolutely breathtaking book in its aesthetic, and deserves to be read as soon as possible!

Have you made any bookish purchases this month? What are you opinions on the new Harry Potter? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Book Haul: July 2016

Leave a Reply

