Book Haul: August 2016

DSCF1111August draws to its close and here I am with (yet again) a book haul. Whilst I tell myself every month that I categorically DO NOT NEED any new books . . . the inevitable always happens. Yet I suppose that is the vicious cycle; you read a book, you feel the insatiable urge to replace its unread spot with another. On the whole, I do not feel too laden with guilt, as this haul only contains five books, two of which I have already read. So, in no particular order, here we go . . .

DSCF1057

Many of you will know that I loved Jessie Burton’s first novel, The Miniaturist, so it is unsurprising that this month I bought her second novel, The Muse. As you can see from above, this really is a beautifully designed book, and I have already read it. You can read my full thoughts and opinions here.

DSCF1120

I have wanted to pick up a book from the Hogarth Shakespeare Series since the first book, The Gap of Time, was released, and I finally decided to bite the bullet and order said book.  Each book in this series takes a Shakespeare play, and is rewritten in a new and exciting way by various authors. The Gap of Time  is the first in the installment, and is a retake of ‘The Winter’s Tale’. The paperback is now also out, but I just adore the clean, vibrant cover design of the hardback, and so naturally it was my first choice. Despite hearing only great things regarding Jeanette Winterson, I have shamefully yet to pick up any of her works. Hopefully, the combination of her writing and Shakespeare will help me to discover a new favourite author.

As you can also see, I likewise recently purchased a cope of Michael Punke’s The Revenant. I would be greatly surprised if you did not know anything regarding this book after it’s huge cinematic presence in the movie adaptation featuring Leonardo DiCaprio where he (finally!!!) won an Oscar for Best Actor. Although set at a slower pace, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, and I am eager to read the original novel to see how the two mediums compare.

DSCF1118

The second book of this haul which I have already read is The Chrysalids, by John Wyndham. Wyndham is an author who I have wanted to read for a very long time, and I finally bought one of his novels after the ‘Readers Inc.’ book club in which I participate on Good Reads made this their selection for August. I have not yet had a chance to give a full length review of my thoughts, but suffice to say I enjoyed this book, and you can expect to see a review fairly soon.

As I have already confessed, I am OBSESSED with the Penguin English Library series. I already own quite a large selection, but that never manages to deter me from adding a new purchase to my collection, this month’s being Thomas Hardy’s Under the Greenwood Tree. I have previously read two of Hardy’s works; Two on a Tower (review here) and Far from the Madding Crowd (review soon to come). I have come to regard Hardy as one of my favourite writers, so of course I am now on a mission to gather all of his novels, thus resulting in this purchase.

Have you read any of these books? I would love to know your opinions if so.

Editions:

The Muse – Picador.

The Gap of Time – Hogarth (imprint of Vintage).

The Revenant – The Borough Press (imprint of HarperCollins).

The Chrysalids – Penguin Books.

Under the Greenwood Tree – Penguin English Library.

 

Leave a Reply

