Book Haul: London Visit (2)

dscf1166If you have read my recent review of the Savoy Grill London, you will know that myself and my boyfriend recently spent four days in London for his birthday. We had an amazing time eating as much food as humanly possibly, visiting famous landmarks, and of course shopping. By which I mean book shopping!

We have visited London previously, and on that trip I had bought so many books that navigating the contents of my suitcase became a real life version of Tetras. Not to mention the muscles I developed on my arms from then lugging said suitcase to the station. I was rather hoping I had learnt my lesson, and could exercise my new found ability of self control. As you can tell, I failed miserably. However, I did come away with thirteen new books, so technically this loss of restraint was a brilliant thing (thank God my bank account cannot talk . . .).

The first book shop we visited was the stunning Hatchards. Hatchards is the oldest bookshop in London, having been founded in 1797, and holds an impressive three Royal Warrants. If you are a fan of Waterstones, this shop is situated a few doors down from the Piccadilly branch, and indeed has a similar layout. I think it may now be owned or be in partnership with Waterstones, although I am not entirely sure!

Naturally, we did then visit said Piccadilly branch, as it is without a doubt my favourite Waterstones, if not my favourite book shop! The following day found us spending a lengthy time perusing the shelves of the flagship Foyles store, followed by a leisurely stroll around the book section (and bakery section) of Harrods.

In no particular order, here are the books:

dscf1183

  1. The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry (review here).
  2. Nutshell by Ian McEwan (review here).
  3. Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter.
  4. His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet (amazing book – review here!)dscf1185
  5. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins.
  6. Frankenstein by Mary Shelly.
  7. Humphry Clinker by Tobias Smollett.
  8. Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell.
  9. dscf1186The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey.
  10. Assassins Apprentice by Robin Hobb
  11. dscf1180The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J. K. Rowling.
  12. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling.dscf1181
  13. Tea and Cake London by Zena Alkayat.

As you can see, I have already read a few of these, and cannot wait to get to the rest as soon as possible! Have you read any of these? What do you think?

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Book Haul: London Visit (2)

  1. enywulandari says:

    Oh my.. You bought Humphry Clinker. I did buy the novel, too, but didn’t finish reading it, hehe.. Haven’t read Cranford but would love to read it later because I like the writing style of Elizabeth Gaskell. Happy reading, Chelsie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

