Book Haul: June 2017

IMG_6226It’s been a while since I’ve posted a book haul on here. That’s not to say that I haven’t been buying books, because that would be a pretty impossible feat. It’s just that I haven’t necessarily been keeping track of them or even buying a large enough amount of books in one month to justify a haul. Thankfully, that is now about to change as I talk you through the book which I have acquired in the month of June!

To start, I was kindly sent three books from the publishers in exchange for my honest opinions. Firstly, I was sent The White Road by Sarah Lotz from Hodder & Stoughton. I had already read The Three by her which I loved (review here), and have now already read her newest one. As you can see from my review here, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Next was a book sent over by MacLehose by a new author to me; Three Days and a Life, by Pierre Lemaitre. I have also now read this book, and sadly I was not very impressed by it (review here). The last book I was sent was another book by Hodder & Stoughton. Written by Catriona MacPherson, this book is one in a series following the female detective Dandy Gilver. I am currently reading this book now and a review will be up shortly!

IMG_6218

I bought two books myself at the start of the month from my local Waterstones. I love following literary prizes, and as soon as the winner of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was announced I went straight out to purchase the winner, which was The Power by Naomi Alderman. I have just recently finished this book, and loved it! Review to follow soon! As the books were ‘Buy one get one half price’, I also treated myself to the latest winner of the Man Booker Prize which I am ashamed to say I have not yet read. I have heard great things about The Sellout, written by Paul Beatty, so I am eager to pick this up soon!

IMG_6220

Myself and my partner recently had a week off together, and decided to travel to London for the day to visit his sister who lives there, as well as to do a spot of obligatory book shopping! On a time limit, I did somehow manage to restrict myself to just one book store, that being the lovely flagship Foyles store. Whilst there, I picked up another book within the stunning Penguin English Library editions which I am collecting. This was The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. I read what is arguable James’s most famous book, The Turn of the Screw, whilst in University, so I’m quite intrigued to see how the rest of his novels shape up. I also picked up the second in the Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hob. I really enjoyed the first in the series, Assassin’s Apprentice, so can’t wait to pick up where things left off. The last thing I picked up in Foyles was The Handmaid’s Tale, the famous book by Margaret Atwood. I’m shocked at myself that I haven’t yet read this, but hope to rectify this soon.

IMG_6219

The only other book I bought this month was something slightly different which I picked up whilst in London visiting the Imperial War Museum (which I would highly recommend!) This was a small book called Animals in War which is a book of postcards which quite literally does what the title says. As an animal lover, this book is a real treat!

IMG_6221

All in all, I’m very happy with the books I’ve gained this month, and can’t wait to let you know what I think of them.

Disclaimer – I was kindly given the first three books mentioned in this post by the publishers in exchange for an honest review. I will only ever post my true opinions, and will NOT write a favorable review in exchange for a free book.

7 thoughts on “Book Haul: June 2017

  1. Becky says:

    I received The White Road too! Really excited to read it 😊
    I’ve also been looking into reading Robin Hobb’s books – did you review the first in the series?

    Like

  2. alwaystrustinbooks says:

    I am enjoying The White Road atm. I was about to pick Three Days and a Life to review as I recently recieved my copy in the post… maybe I will wait a bit longer 😅. I thought Dandy Gilver’s last outing was quite a good read so this should be good too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

